C is for Control


Crtl+Alt+Delete so that you can take Ctrl

Control? Why control? Many people associate the word control with negative things, such as a control freak, or someone who is uptight, a perfectionist. Yet control is not always a negative word. In fact, taking control of certain things can be a positive change when done correctly.

When life changes around you, you cannot control it. You can only control how you react to it. Now this is something that I have to remind myself of every single day, because sometimes it is difficult not to take the reins on everything. You need to be able to adjust, to flow, and relax when things change. You do this by controlling how you react. Instead of panicking and having an anxiety attack, take a deep breath and remind yourself that it will be ok.

Taking control over your feelings is another way that taking control can be positive. It will leave you feeling a sense of relief, a sense of peace and tranquility. Anger is the best example. Instead of letting yourself get angry over every tiny single thing, try to take control of that anger. Grab anger by its imaginary hair and beat it into submission until you have it under control. When you let it get to you, you actually lose control over yourself, which can lead to an even worse situation than you were originally in.

One more way in taking control is over your body, your self-image. Many people, myself included, become to hate their bodies because of the image that is projected on us by the media and Hollywood. I know that I must force myself sometimes to take a hard look at myself physically, and teach myself to appreciate the strength and beauty that is my body, instead of hating it and focusing on the things I don’t like. Slow down and take a little more control over your body and how you treat it. Take more care of it and give yourself some well deserved self-love! Obviously I still run and lift, and always watch what I eat (aside from a cookie or two), but I am also learning to take more control over the way I view myself and my body, instead of letting others control that for me.

It is not always easy, and sometimes you might cry trying to gain control back over these things, but it is worth it.

 

P.S. I was originally going to use confidence for C, however control is what came out, so I went with it! 😀

Leave a Reply

