Cornstalks, Humming birds, and Sunrises


It is 6 am again. Up before the alarm. Tossed and turned all night so no chance for dreams or much sleeping. Usually this makes me a very cranky person, especially considering that I have another interview today for a retail position. There wasn’t much chance to be cranky. The sunrise was a vibrant orange, pinkish color, dying the clouds over the corn fields in the back of my house. It is one of those moments that I kick myself in the arse for not having a niffty camera (mine really sucks) to get a picture of the view.

It is beautiful, the tips of the cornstalks tinged a golden color that gets brighter each time you look. Not only that, but there are these tiny, fast hummingbirds that poke out of the field and dart near the feeder. Swirling around they finally sit on the ledge and eat the food. My favorite Golden Finches are sitting at the bird bath, chirping away. Who could be cranky? Especially when you have a pot of coffee brewing? With the smell of coffee, the slight chill sneaking in through the windows, and the crickets and birds signing, I think I have a new favorite time of day. Everything smells so crisp, clean, new. As though night comes and takes away all that is used up from the day before, and gives you brand new blades of grass, kisses the flowers and herbs with dew, and encourages the birds to be just a tad more active each morning. Early bird, worm, and all that.

Everything is still quiet, without much noise being made by the neighbors or by Hubsy, he is still in bed. I used to hate being awake in the mornings, especially when he was sleeping all warm and cozy, but now I think it is one of my favorite times of day. It is almost as though the powers that be in the Universe gift you for being awake so damned early, and they make it more beautiful. Just like sunsets, they gift you for slowing down enough to look and go “WOW”. I don’t have any photos that captured this moment for you, or any of the birds in the morning, so I do apologize for that. One day, when I get that $600 camera, I will be able to catch the moment and post it for you. For now, however, you are stuck with my still lacking description.

Ok, found a picture online just for hecks and giggles. Yea the post is short, but you know I will more than likely write another one today when it is so short. Besides, my coffee mug is waiting to be filled up with morning goodness, the first cup of the day. You get that right?!

Just not harvested, still green and full. The color is right though!

xo

Mrs 305

5 thoughts on “Cornstalks, Humming birds, and Sunrises

  1. Yes, in this modern day and age, i do not have a digital camera thingy. I know, but yes, sure wish some times i had one like u said, to capture the world in all it`s glory.

Leave a Reply

